Central Western Dressage Group

To view the masthead you need to upgrade your Flash Player to version 8 or above

Equestrian NSW's Night of Nights

Wendy Cohen, Wednesday, 28 March 2012

Over 200 people attended the 2011 Equestrian NSW Annual Awards for Excellence held at the Waterview Convention Centre Homebush last night, March 27th. The gala evening was hosted by long time supporter of equestrian sport and well known broadcaster, Garry Wilkinson, and saw some of the sport's most dazzling stars acknowledged for their wonderful achievements over the past year.

Special guests included John Egan of the NSW Department of Sport and Recreation, Bert Clarke, Ann Marie Gordon, Kathryn Thomson and Will Macarthur of Gow Gates Insurance, Haylie Martin from Horsezone, Dr Derek Major, ENSW Chair, Olympic medalists and equestrian legends, Neale Lavis OAM, Wayne Roycroft, Stuart Tinney and Shane Rose, President of EA, Paul Cargill, board and committee members and a host of successful international and national athletes and horse owners.

All the winners (full list below) were extremely worthy and represented the sport so well across all disciplines. The Volunteer of the Year, Andrea Webb, was chosen from an extraordinary group of finalists and in a lovely speech urged everyone to give of their time to volunteer where possible as it was the volunteers which kept the sport going. Sandy Lucas won the NSW Coach of the Year, she epitomises the traits of an exceptional coach - she is nurturing, inspiring and dedicated. The prestigious Gow Gates Services to the Sport Awards again showcased the very best of equestrian in acknowledging those who make a significant contribution to the sport and enrich the competition and training experience for all members.

Another highlight of the evening was the solemn but touching tribute to some our best loved members who has passed away in 2011 - Bob Brook, Judy Mackay, Peter Dutton, Northern Hector and Victory Salute. The families and loved ones of these important figures in our sport were on hand to share the memories.


Equestrian NSW Annual Awards for Excellence - 2011




Eventing Athlete of the Year

Shane Rose

Eventing Horse of the Year


Eventing Owner of the Year

Christine and Matthew Bates

Eventing Young Athlete of the Year

Isabelle Bowdith-McIntyre

Eventing Junior Pre Novice Rider

Taylor Robertson



Carriage Driving Horse of the Year

Ellsmere Dynasty

Carriage Driving Athlete of the Year

Ty Nichols



Saddlehorse Horse of the Year

DP Mayfair

Saddlehorse Young Athlete of the Year

Annabel Mulready

Saddlehorse Show Hunter of the Year

Stealing Time

Saddlehorse Athlete of the Year

Angela Rodham

Saddlehorse Pony of the Year

Kamilaroi Kismet



Dressage Athlete of the Year

Rachael Sanna

Dressage Horse of the Year

Jaybee Alabaster

Dressage Young Athlete of the Year

Megan Bryant

Dressage Owner of the Year

Bev Edwards

Dressage Young Rider Encouragement Award

David McKinnon



Jumping Athlete of the Year

Edwina Tops Alexander

Jumping Horse of the Year

Wirrigulla Nicklaus

Jumping Owner of the Year

Charlie Hooke

Jumping Young Athlete of the Year

Tom McDermott

Best Agricultural Society providing Jumping Competitions

Boorowa Show



Vaulting Athlete of the Year

Lani Maher

Vaulting Young Athlete of the Year

Eliza Wark-Chapman

Vaulting Horse of the Year

Bridgford Aviator - owner Lyn Lynch

Vaulting Encouragement Award

Clare Watts



Gow-Gates Services to the Sport Awards


Carriage Driving

Bill Wicks

Saddle Horse

Joanne Prestwidge


Jenny & Doug Denby


Carolyn James


Jane Robinson


Gail Benson





NSW Volunteer Of the Year Awards - Finalists


Carriage Driving

Dot Willcoxson


Jane Kibble


Owen Marsh


Bruce McVey


Andrea Webb

Saddle Horse

Mark Kenzig

Overall Winner – NSW Volunteer of the Year

Andrea Webb



Equestrian NSW Coach of the Year

Sandy Lucas



Volunteer of the Year - Andrea Webb

Joanne Prestwidge and Saddlehorse Young Athlete of the Year, Annabel Mulready

Wayne Roycroft, Neale Lavis and Shane Rose

NSW Coach of the Year, Sandy Lucas with Les Friend

Services to Dressage Award winner, Gail Benson with Ann Marie Gordon of Gow Gates

Services to Vaulting Award winners, Jenny and Doug Denby with Ann Marie Gordon of Gow Gates

2011 Interschool Champions with Shane Rose and Stuart Tinney


Lyn Lynch and Clare Watts

Gow Gates Services to Eventing winner, Carolyn James

Dressage Young Athlete of the Year, Megan Bryant

Our Chairman, Derek Major, accepting driving award on behalf of Ty Nichols

Supporters & Sponsors

    2014"ThinLine Dressage with Altitude" CDI sponsors & supporters

Commins_Hendriks_logo Mulawa_logo  Jilli Cobcroft

Cabonne_Council_logo  Taste_Orange_logo




CSG_logo  Local_Horse_Mag_logo     Riders Calendar
Small_Acres_Cydner_logo NuWalla_logo Monument Wines Stable8_logo